View Poll Results: Which do you prefer for deep water Side imaging?

Voters
48. You may not vote on this poll
  • Humminbird

33 68.75%
  • Lowrance

12 25.00%
  • Garmin

3 6.25%

Deeper water Side imaging Brand Preference

Not trying to start the Ford vs Chevy debate.. just trying to get a little more insight on what seems to be more favorable in a given situation. I’m currently running Lowrance Lives with Active Imaging. My only experience with Humminbird is Pre-Mega. And I have no experience with Garmin.

My question is.. Graphing in deeper water scenarios (20 feet or more) which seems to give better Images while side imaging or even Down Imaging?

Personally I think my current Lowrance setup has better side images than the old “Pre-Mega” birds that I had, but I’m not very impressed with the Down Imaging views I get with the Lowrance. In fact I hardly ever use Down imaging due to that. Of course the 2D sonar is way better than my old Birds.

This is deeper water than 20' with a Humminbird Helix MEGA SI unit:

Wayne Purdum
    Charlottesville, Va.
    Helix 12 CHIRP MEGA+ SI G3N/G4N, Helix 15 CHIRP MEGA SI+ GPS G4N
    SOLIX 12 SI/G3, Helix 8 CHIRP MEGA SI+ G4N, Ultrex 80/LINK, MEGA360,
    MEGA LIVE, LIVE TL

3. Member
    Very few people will be able to give any sort of meaningful input. Unless you have been able to see and use comparable models of each its just going to turn into the best is what I have at the moment.

4. Member
    How can anyone answer this unless they have experience using all 3 under real world circumstances and not in demo mode at the store?

5. Member
    I have used lowrance on a lake in one boat and humminbird on another boat scanning the same stuff in the same lake. The MEGA is the better between the two IMO. I have not used Garmin SI, only their DI which I thought worked well.

From what I have read Garmin SI works in the megahertz range like humminbird but I have not seen them in use side by side to compare.

6. Member